Monday, June 27, 2011


A friend with celiac disease mentioned that some restaurants get it WRT gluten, and others don't. The latter say they have gluten-free dishes, but they don't, really. They have gluten-reduced dishes. I have puzzled over this, read up on cheap restaurants claiming gluten-free dishes around the country (rather random), and am down to three possible conclusions. Either they have no idea what they are talking about but want to stay in business somehow, rather like this Monty Python sketch.

Or they have substituted a gluten-free ingredient for a major ingredient that is ordinarily wheat-gluten based - rather a "Well it hasn't got much gluten in it" reminiscent of this Monty Python routine

Or they have included something which has the phrase "gluten-free" on the outside, as if glutenfree were some magical ingredient like pixie dust, which gives a dish that special something.

More like this.


Carla @ Gluten Free Recipe Box said...

Most restaurants don't have a clue! They just know that people on a gluten-free diet need to avoid wheat, rye and barley. However, they are uninformed about those having to avoid the smallest amount, like those who have celiac disease. In addition, some restaurants are not aware of hidden sources of gluten such as in bouillon cubes, soy sauce, some sour creams and so much more! Thanks for bringing awareness to others on this subject!

Assistant Village Idiot said...

You're welcome, but mostly I was just trying to have a good time with the weakness of thinking.